East Asia

East Asia refers to the eastern part of the Asian continent plus the island nation of Japan.

The United Nations recognizes five sovereign countries plus the Chinese Special Administrative Regions (SARs), Hong Kong and Macau. Taiwan is also part of the area, but its country status is disputed. We count it as a country, but China doesn’t.

Countries and SARs

  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Macau
  • Taiwan
  • South Korea
  • North Korea
  • Japan

We’ve had the privilege to explore all but North Korea at this stage.

If you want to know more about any of these countries:

Number 1 – Select “Destinations” on the menu bar at the top of this page. ( Select “Asia”, then “East Asia,” and you’ll see the individual country options.

Number 2 – Hit the Country link in the list above.

Number 3 – Head to the search bar and type the destination.

Have Fun!

🧭 Happy exploring! 🛫

  Fast Facts

Name: East Asia
Location: Eastern part of the Asian continent plus Japan.
Population of East Asia: ~ 1.7 billion
Number of Countries: 5 sovereign nations + Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan
Highest Mountain: Sagarmatha 8,848m (known as Mt Everest)
Largest Lake: Quinhai Lake – China
Longest River: The Yangtze

Disclosure: Note that some of the links and advertisements on this page lead to products from our partners. If you buy something after using those links, we may earn a small commission from the sale. However, you have our assurance that you won’t pay any more than you would by buying directly from their site. And we promise that we don’t link to products or companies we haven’t used ourselves or had close friends, family, or travel buddies recommend. You may also see other links served to you by Google. These will display products that Google thinks you want to see. If you click on those advertisements, we also get paid a small (minuscule) amount. If you want to know more about how you help to fund our travels without costing you a cent – then CLICK THIS LINK for a more comprehensive explanation.